I, Me, My

This post is somewhat of a personal/diary-like nature. I just needed to write about what’s on my mind.

Up until about 4 years ago, I was not the ‘healthiest’ person, emotionally, and in terms of my ability to function in relationships. I was very codependent, insecure, and, in less-than-obvious ways, I was controlling and manipulative. I wasn’t so bad that the average person, including myself, would pick up on the problems, but they were there. My partner, at the time, had already done a great deal of work on herself, and was in a very healthy place. My dysfunctions, while subtle to everyone else, starkly contrasted with her own functioning.

I did a great deal of work on myself during that relationship. I spent many hours and dollars getting myself to her healthier level of functioning, and pursuing goals beyond the scope of our romantic relationship. I paid a therapist to be my relationship and communication coach. Not wanting to waste my money (he wasn’t cheap), or forget his advice, I wrote out and codified everything he told me.

My journey of healing and growth didn’t end with my romantic relationship, or when I stopped seeing the therapist. I have continued, to this day to record and codify anything useful I read or observe. I have a list that has grown to about 90 principles, practices, and boundaries, over the last four years.

Onto my point. One of my most commonly used and beneficial tools I learned to apply through that time was ‘I’ statements. Instead of saying ‘you’, whether in reference to my audience or people in general, I generally speak only about myself. The danger in the use of ‘you’, I have found, is that I am often either projecting my values, perceptions, or ideas onto my audience, or I am generalizing (which sometimes includes indirectly projecting onto my audience).

Immediately, the benefit is that I am not putting anyone in a position where they need to disagree with something I am projecting onto them, or onto another group of people they care for. Besides this wonderful benefit, though, is that no one can argue with me about what I am saying. I have an inalienable right to say and think whatever I want about myself.

Both of the major benefits of ‘I’ statements helps to prevent a break down of communication, and keeps a relationship safer from misunderstandings.

Here’s the problem. I am starting to really find it hard/distasteful to talk about myself. When friends ask me how I’m doing, I know they’re interested in what’s going on in my life, especially the good stuff, but it is getting harder to relate it. There is so much that is going right for me lately, but I am shying away from discussing what is going right in my life because of what is going right in my life.

What going right is that there is more and more congruence between my values and my behavior and lifestyle. The issue is that my values tell me that it’s more important that I know you and understand you, than for you to know me. My beliefs tell me that much of what makes me ‘me‘ is illusion and dysfunction. The ‘me’ that I am ‘returning‘ to, is smaller and smaller, and less concerned with my own life, with less about me to relate.

Even writing about all this causes me some feeling of anxiety- even though this blog is completely anonymous for me. I am second-guessing writing about me and my ideas.

I don’t know if it’s natural, but as I stop focusing on me, I find myself also focusing on individual relationships much less. Simultaneously, i find my ‘social life’ broadening. My relationships with my ‘friends’ are not as deep or close on a constant basis anymore, while my associations with everyone else are becoming deeper and more genuine. It feels good, but I am weary at the same time.

All this leads me to another thing I have noticed that has been on my mind. As I leave people even greater room to talk about themselves and their ideas, I have noticed a common theme among many. I try not to judge, and I try to accept it, but I have noticed that many of my peers boast about themselves, and compare themselves to others, in almost every conversation I have with them.

This boasting about themselves contrasts so starkly with what I am starting to practice more and more, that it pushes me even further away from talking about myself. I don’t generally make any conscious judgments, but I can’t help feel put off by it now whenever someone starts doing it. I stick with them and continue conversing, but it is a determent from socializing with them next time.

It is a forced thing right now, to be open and friendly to all, yet accept and listen to the self-righteousness and boasting of many. I have yet to discover a balance that satisfies my values and doesn’t leave me put off. Do I tell others I am interested more in hearing about them and their ideas, and not their comparisons of themselves to other people? Perhaps that’s it. It may put some people off, but ultimately might improve the harmony between us- and the exchange of genuine and mutually beneficial communication.

Wouldn’t it be tacit approval of the behavior if I just listen attentively, without redirecting, when someone starts boasting and comparing? But then, if I try to redirect, isn’t that contending with the way they are? Perhaps it’s about finding the right ‘pivot’ in the conversation…

Them “I am so much better than so-and-so at fixing cars!”

Me (they seem interested in cars…) “What’s your favorite car to work on?”

Them “I like working on Ford cars. One time this guy brought in a Mustang…”

That would work. In this hypothetical scenario, I turned the conversation, using cars as the pivot, and exerting as little force as possible. Harmony maintained.

Now to apply that in real life.

I guess, when people want me to talk about me, I could tell them what I’m enjoying- “I’m really enjoying this great book I found…, have you read it?”, or, “I’m loving the warm weather. Are you taking advantage of it?”

I guess, when I talk about myself, instead of saying what I like/think, I could say what I like hearing/talking about. …

Off to a Town Hall meeting.

This post ended up HUGE. I feel better, having expressed my feelings and thoughts on these things. Anyone who read any of it, thank you for ‘listening’. 🙂

5 thoughts on “I, Me, My

  1. It’s difficult to find the equilibrium between that which was surpassed or transcended (not in a “better than” way, but more of an evolution) and the new level. I have found that this, too, is transitory, and that I, with much thought (but not too much as to leave me stagnant) will work out the new place of being. The process of learning is as tantamount to what is learnt. I find that I come up against linguistics and the intangible, or a tangible and understandable way of expressing what I am/think/feel/doing (the intangible). The language is not altogether conducive for expressing the intangible in a way that is easily understood. When conversing with others in a group, one can’t help but refer to oneself as I; I mean, ultimately, even when speaking not of ourselves we are still stating our own experience or a perception of something (which is technically still ‘I’), but then one thinks, ‘Does that mean I still have ego?’ The ego is not attached to the word/symbol ‘I’. If we spoke as we truly are, then it would be a lot harder to communicate with others, because it would get lost in translation. Not everything will fit perfectly on every level, but some will.

    Good travels along your journey. 🙂 Thank you for allowing us, the reader, to sit with you and your thoughts for a time.

    Nice new look to your blog, by the way. 🙂

  2. “The process of learning is as tantamount to what is learnt.”

    Indeed.., For me, the journey is also just as exciting as the potential destination.

    I wonder if the ‘destination’ is the journey itself? Like Nietzsche’s Ubermensch. Where humanity ultimately ends up is not the point- the point is those exemplary specimens it produces along the way. Perhaps the point of the journey is not where I end up, but the fruit that this journey produces in the world around me as I go.

    Maybe the journey never really ends…? (thinking ‘aloud’)

    “When conversing with others in a group, one can’t help but refer to oneself as I”

    Perhaps I’m ‘sweating the small stuff.’ You’re right, I think. When I say “i”, it doesn’t necessarily have to be attached to the ego/represent the ego. “I” could simply mean the originating point of an idea or statement (communication requires two known points in space/social space).

    “Nice new look to your blog, by the way.”

    I have to give credit to your blog, and a few others that I read. I liked how ‘bright’ they were. Your site theme frames your words in ‘light’ colors. 🙂

  3. Sounds like you are far along the path of to egolessness. Thank you for sharing your experiences and thoughts. I agree with Niko that these stages are transitory, but it is helpful to see other points of view and personal experiences.

  4. Reblogged this on Living Life Positively and commented:
    I really enjoyed this post on Walking No Line and it resonated with me very deeply. I too can find it difficult to talk about myself (Heck I don’t even like myself a lot of the time, how am I supposed to talk about it!!).

  5. Enjoyed reading this post. It is in time of weakness there is discovery. I am sure you enjoy this moment of weakness while new challanges are met. Every day, every meoment, every individual who crosses one’s path…ask yourself….what and why are they here? Pay attention, you will discover more insight of the answers you are still looking for. When one reaches a point of selfless purpose, the universe will guide you.

Leave a Reply

