I’m Busy Cleaning

I have begun studying a new book. It is called Worldly Wisdom, and it is about the Confucian teachings of thinkers from the Ming Dynasty. Good book, from Shambhala, by a J.C. Cleary (Thomas Cleary pen name?)

Anyways, the first line, of the first teaching in the book, reads “You must properly manage your mind and make it sparking clean and always alert.”

I have progressed further in the book, but I am still contemplating this one line regularly. I see echoes of it in the writing of a lot of the inspiring blogs I read, many of which are Buddhist. I have begun efforts to do a deeper ‘cleaning’ of my thought processes and sub-surface feelings and attitudes (if that makes any sense).

I have gotten out of the habit of writing over the holidays, but I intend to get back into it. I don’t have my usual length of post in me today, but I wanted to put ‘pen to paper’ anyways.

One thought on “I’m Busy Cleaning

Leave a Reply

